NSWRL Re-Introduces U20 Jersey Flegg Cup

1st February 2018

The Jersey Flegg Cup is back in 2018 after a 10-year absence, with the NSWRL reviving the historic competition following the cessation of the NRL-run under-20s National Youth Competition. The competition is named after Harry “Jersey” Flegg, who played for the Eastern Suburbs in 1908 and 1909, and was a prominent administrator of the game up until 1960. It began as an under-19s age group until the NRL formed in 1998, and was originally held as part of the NSWRL’s junior representative season that was played over nine-to-12 weeks early in the season.

“It’s fantastic to revive the Jersey Flegg in 2018 after a 10-year absence,” NSWRL General Manager of Football Barrie-Jon Mather. “There is now a stronger link between the junior and senior competitions with players from the SG Ball having the opportunity to play in the Jersey Flegg before making the jump to the Intrust Super Premiership NSW and beyond. “The season will run for 21 rounds over a 25-week period that includes two two-week breaks in May and July, with an additional bye being given to each team that results in a 20-game season proper.”

The major difference to the old Holden Cup is that no Queensland or Victorian-based teams will play in the Jersey Flegg competition. Ten of the 12 clubs will enter a team under their NRL brand, with only the South Sydney Rabbitohs (North Sydney Bears) and Canberra (Mounties) affiliating with their feeder club for the competition. Teams are -

- Newcastle Knights
- Manly Sea Eagles
- Wests Tigers
- Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
- Penrith Panthers
- Parramatta Eels
- Mounties (Canberra)
- North Sydney Bears (South Sydney)
- Cronulla Sharks
- St George Illawarra Dragons
- New Zealand Warriors
- Sydney Roosters

The Jersey Flegg Grand Final will be played on the same day as the Intrust Super Premiership, Ron Massey Cup and Sydney Shield Grand Finals, one week prior to the NRL Grand Final.

Just like the SG Ball, Jersey Flegg matches revert back and consist of 35-minute halves to coincide with the Queensland Hastings Deering Colts under-20s competition.

In 2018 FOX LEAGUE and Channel 9 are increasing their commitment to the NSWRL’s blue-ribbon competition, the Intrust Super Premiership NSW. At this stage there is no plan to telecast the Jersey Flegg competition but NSWRL.com.au may live stream select matches throughout the season including the finals series.